Dutch-Australian Smart City innovation hubs workgroup

During the Dutch trade mission to Australia that took place last month, a Smart City delegation travelled along to meet their counterparts on the other side of the world. Within the international GSC3 smart city coalition, there are namely already seven active cities in Australia: Adelaide, Canberra, Sydney, Newcastle, Lake Macquarie, Ipswich and Sunshine Coast. They are part of a larger group of smart cities that includes: Amsterdam, Rotterdam The Hague, Utrecht, Eindhoven, Chicago, Austrian Charlotte, Genoa and Bandung.

An immediate result of the Dutch Smart City Mission to Australia is that a workgroup of the leaders of the innovation hubs in these cities has been established! Getting to know each other, as well as each other’s work, will in itself create a sharing of information, knowledge and experience, and this will be beneficial for each of the cities. The real aim will now be to bring the actual entrepreneurs across all of these hubs in contact with each other and, wherever possible, for them to collaborate and learn from each other’s experiences.

Watch here how the Netherlands and Australia are strengthening their cooperation in the field of smart cities.